Retiring from Law Enforcement the end of next year. Too late for me to fly?

I have been a police officer for almost 25 years now. I plan on retiring in December of 2024 at the age of 49. I’ve always wanted to be a pilot and actually began my training for a PPL but life situations and 9/11 brought my training to a halt. My question is, would it be a waste of my time to enroll in an ATP class at the age of 49? I really want my second career to be in the pilot profession but not sure if my dream is unattainable because of my age. I’m figuring by the time I get to 1500 hrs, I’d be around the 52-53 year old mark. That leaves me a nice 14-15 years to work as a pilot commercially, and even longer privately (corporate). What are your thoughts on this issue? I realize I won’t have enough time to earn seniority and most likely won’t ever sit left seat, but I fine with that. I love aviation and the profession and just want to fly but would like to be paid for it as a career. Thanks for any insight you can offer.

1 Like

Franco,

This is by far our #1 faq. The answer is simple. As long as you’re realistic about your goals, no you’re not wasting your time. If however you have fantasies of being a 787 Capt for Delta flying to Narita, that’s probably not going to happen.

Adam

Lol. Yeah I kind of figured I wouldn’t be left seating a wide body to Japan….but hey, this is a crazy world we live in and crazier things have happened. But seriously, I just looking to have a second career making decent money (nothing like a wide body Capt) and most of all, a career I truly enjoy doing. Sitting right seat at a major or regional or even corporate is fine by me. Thanks Adam for your quick response.

Franco,

I would not count on going too many years past 65 in the corporate world. At some point, people do not want to see grandpa flying their family around.

Chris