Start flight training or apply for 1st class physical?

Hello Everyone,

I am seeking some advice on whether I should start flight training or apply for my 1st class medical exam. I’m lined up to start my training for my PPL yet I’m worried about making it through and not having a medical certificate to fly.

I’m an Army veteran diagnosed with PTSD and I’m rated at 70%. The VA has prescribed me different SSRIs but I’m working with my doctor to discontinue them because I completed my treatment and I have improved ever so greatly. I’m a bit nervous if I should wait for training or start the process with an AME given I’ve been reading some of the other posts. I do realize there’s some hope in vets with PTSD wanting to fly in the civilian world.

Any information would be beneficial. Thanks!

1 Like

James,

This is a conversation best had with your AME. I can tell you if you’re currently using (or were recently) taking meds your First Class Medical will most likely be an issue. That said if you’re Dr and AME agree that a First Class is in your future, you could possibly get a Third Class (much easier to obtain and all that’s required by most flight schools) and start your training.

Obviously you don’t want to invest too much if you’re never going to get your First Class, but again if they believe and agree you will eventually, then why not?

Adam

James,

I actually don’t think you should start flight training until you know that you can hold a first class. If your medical is deferred it can be a lengthy process to get it approved and would require you to put your flight training on hold anyway.

Since you mentioned that you are nervous about starting vs waiting, I assume that’s because you already know that your application might get deferred. In my opinion, it is better to deal with your medical now than later.

Tory