The discovery flight

I am currently in my last semester of college and I want to start ATP in early 2020. Aviation has been my passion my entire life… After I graduate college, I want to take a few months to recoup and hopefully complete my writtens prior to staying ATP to lessen my workload a bit. I would be starting from 0 hours. Alhough I’ve read about the enrollment process a few times on the ATP website. I’m a little confused, after I complete the intro modules on the website. Can I schedule a discovery flight without obtaining my first class medical? Or the first class medical is first and foremost. (I know the medical is a most, just unsure about exactly when it’s required) Also, as someone who has never flown before, or even been in a small aircraft before. Other than being open to learn, being cool, calm and collected. Will this fight be used to determine my flying or learning capability in the program. (In other words, can this fight disqualify someone from the program or affect enrollment chances?)

Ian,

To answer your question first no the Intro will not be used to determine your abilities to learn or be a pilot. They couldn’t. You have no abilities, you’re not a pilot.

You say aviation has “been my passion my entire life” yet you also say you’ve never “even been in a small aircraft before”. I have to ask then how do you know? I’m not trying to dissuade you in any way but to me that’s like committing to living on nothing but pizza for the rest of your lives but have never had a slice. You’re talking about investing $80k+ and 9mos of your life, don’t you think maybe you should dip your toes in the water before you dive in head first? Now chances are if you have a passion for aviation you’ll really enjoy but there are also people who have a VERY negative reaction to the whole thing.