Using GI Bill to become a Pilot

I am currently an active duty Marine. I’ve been in for 3.5 years, but still have about 18 months left. I am wanting to follow my dream of becoming an airline pilot, and I’m obviously wanting Uncle Sam to help pay for it. But, I have unfortunately not found the BEST way to go about it. I currently have a “plan” to attend ATP’s accelerated airline pilot program, but I have read that the Post 9/11 GI Bill will only pay for about 13k (annual cap), and the Montgomery GI Bill will pay for about 60%.
My original plan was to use my GI Bill to pay for all my certifications with ATP, then pay for my own online college while I am a Flight Instructor. That plan doesn’t quite seem to be possible.
I am currently using Tuition Assistance to get some college credits (does not tap into my GI Bill).
I am trying to get all my Certifications done ASAP, that way I can begin my pilot career ASAP. That being said, I know the GI Bills will pay if I go to a school that also produces a Degree.
If anyone has any information, or advice, it would be much appreciated. Especially those who have been through similar situations.
Thanks in advance!
-David

David,

There are many threads on here that reference the GI Bill and I suggest you take a look. The bottomline is this, yes the govt will pay the bill if you go to a 4yr school but while you’re initially saving the cost of flight training you’re costing yourself many times that amount in future earning, seniority and all that come with it. Airline pilots have a very finite shelf-life and therefore the money you lose is unrecoverable. This is why so many people coming from the military chose to use the money for their degrees and opt for paying for the flight training themselves.

Again I recommend you read what others in your position have to say.

Adam

@Adam This is my first time posting and since the topic is related to this gentleman’s post, I’m going to piggy back off of it.