Were you actually able to afford Flight School?

Hey guys, Leah here! I’m a young, 19yr woman currently working part-time in retail. I was originally a full-time student after I graduated in 2020, but stopped pursuing my General Studies A.S halfway through since I couldn’t come to a conclusion of what I wanted to do after years of careful deliberation. Instead, I took to the internet to research jobs and careers that didn’t necessarily require degrees and stumbled upon commercial piloting! I’m here on this forum, so, needless to say, it really tickled my fancy. However, I’m still hesitating and have a lot of doubts despite planning a discovery flight for next week, and the primary reason is the cost!

Now, I don’t really have a great understanding of finances, loans, debt, or anything about it, but all I understood was that in order to afford any and all of the schools I’m interested in (Academy of Aviation, ATP, and Epic Flight Academy), I’ll need a loan. It’s daunting to take that leap of faith and start applying for those loans, especially if you’re haunted by stories of people living in debt for their entire lives and never being able to escape it!

I just wanted to ask and see if, starting at the CFI point in the academic timeline, were you guys able to live somewhat comfortably? Was the investment into your career as a commercial pilot able to keep up with the loan payments? Am I just overthinking this and making myself paranoid? I’d love to know!

Leah,