When should I do college?

Hi all, I’m a sophomore in high school at the moment and I am wondering, when should I go to college? I know it’s needed if I want to be a international FO or Captain, so should I do ATP first and then once I am a ATP flight instructor (and once I become a regional airline pilot) take a college night class? Or should I do college first and then apply for ATP? I’m quite worried about financials which is overall why I am asking, since ATPs Airline Career Program costs about 102k (without having a Private Pilots Licenses) and who knows how much college will be

Dillon,

We always recommend college first and frankly right now, due to demand, you might not even have a choice as ATP is looking for either a degree or your PPL for acceptance. Further getting your degree is simply a good idea.

College doesn’t need to be expensive. Community and State schools can be very reasonable. I suggest you start looking into some of them.

Adam

1 Like

Adam,

Thank you for telling me about their recommendations and that community college will work. I got one last question though, is there any certain major I should get or will any major work?

Dillon

Dillon,

While the Majors want a degree, they don’t care as to your field of study. Study what you enjoy and use as a backup.

Adam

1 Like

Adam,

The majors want a bachelors degree, correct? Or will an associates degree work too?

Dillon

Dillon,

If I was in your shoes, I would aim for the bachelors. Why put yourself short of others. The other thing to the bachelors degree is if something in aviation falls through, you have a backup plan. Find something that interests you and you could see yourself doing if you had to resort to the backup plan.

Brady

1 Like

What Brady said…

Adam

1 Like

Dillon,