When should I start

Hey Everyone!

Im currently 15 years old almost 16 and currently a sophomore in high school. Im looking into becoming an airline pilot in the future. However I have zero flying experience.

The question is should I start flight training now? If so what should I do to get started and some tips on starting. Also right now finance can be an issue to so can i get flight training without spending lots of money?

If I wait and hold off my flight training, are universities especially the aviation ones will still accept you ?

Thanks for your time in reading this and giving me some feedback!

-Kevin Xu

Kevin,

At 15 the best thing you can do is focus on school and do well. I do recommend you look into your local CAP (Civil Air Patrol). It’s very inexpensive to join, they have some great programs and you can actually earn your Private with them for next to nothing. Beyond that as I said focus on school, do well, continue to college and earn your degree and then you can focus on flying.

Adam

Adam,

Thanks for the response. Speaking about colleges and degrees, are there any good programs that allows you to get your BA and flying experience at the same time?

Kevin,