When to start flight training?

Hi there aviation community. My name is Alejandro, and I am a 19-year-old sophomore studying finance at the University of Pittsburgh. It has been my lifelong dream to become a pilot for a major US airline, but the problem is I’m not sure when to start. Would it be possible for me to achieve my ratings at a local flight school while still being enrolled at school? Should I pursue my PPL over summer break? I understand seniority is very important at the airlines, so what’s the best way to go about this?

Thank you guys for your help!

My advice is get ground school done before you start training. And get your FAA medical done too. This will save you time and stress. Once both of those are done you can be a little more selective with your training.

1 Like

Alejandro,

The college degree is essential to your future success as an airline pilot and you’re nearly halfway there. We recommend you complete that degree first then pursue flight training. As much as it may seem logical to multi-task when time is of the essence, however, flight training needs to be done in a full time commitment and I’ll tell you why.

Flight skills are perishable, if you learn them and then don’t exercise them, they degrade over time. So if you get your PPL over your summer break and don’t keep it fresh, by the following summer you will need to spend numerous flight hours just to get back the proficiency you once had before making any forward progress. This method is costly and risks the success of your ratings. Plus, there are only two entry points at ATP Zero time or credit private.

It’s best if you focus on college only, getting a good GPA and that degree completed. When you get within 6 months of graduation, you can start preparing for flight training by securing financing, a first class medical, intro flight and competing written exams.

Hannah

1 Like