4 year degree

Are you required to have a 4 year degree to fly for major airlines?

It really is a requirement. Although people will tell you you won’t need it you will. Pilots have told me they’ll drop the degree requirement and they didn’t drop it yet so expect the trend to continue

Nate,

While it is not specifically stated as a “requirement”, the reality is that major airlines only hire pilots with for your degrees.

The only exception to this is American Airlines, which will accept pilots through their flow through programs that do not have degrees. I would not put all my eggs in that basket.

Chris

Nate,

As Chris said it isn’t actually a requirement but that’s one thing less you’ll have on your resume that your competition will. If you don’t you’d better get a Congressional Medal of Honor, be an astronaut or something else to compensate.

Adam

Hi guys, I have a bachelor’s in computer engineering from Iran, unfortunately the GPA is relatively low 2.57 which is evaluated by one of the official evaluators accepted in Usa . Well considering that firstly the degree is from abroad and secondly the GPA is unfortunately a little bit low, I need to make sure that I won’t have any problem at the time I want to apply for major or legacy airlines. Can anyone help me where I can possibly find an accurate answer? Besides that I may have three options to fix it if it should be. Any information or helpful comment on these three options would be appreciated. Firstly I can go for an associate degree from an accredited college in us and make sure that I keep my grades greatly high if it can solve the problem as complementary degree. Secondly, I can concentrate on my pilot training program for 100 percent and after I become instructor and maybe at the very beginning of starting at regional airlines I study part time for a masters degree. And thirdly which I think doesn’t make sense and neither is realistic. I probably start with very few units at a college now and gradually g