College degree and being a pilot

Hello,
I am 32 years old and I work in software. I am currently living in Seattle but I am going to move to Monterey CA, after the new year and I am going to pursue a piloting career. I have read up on the topic of having a college degree vs not having a degree and I just can’t find a solid answer. Do you actually need a degree for major airlines? What about regional? I’m a US Navy vet, does that count as a degree? Seems like having a degree and showing you can stick to something and accomplish it for 4 years or more seems equivalent to 4 years in the service since the airlines don’t look at what type of degree you have.

Victor,

First as for your military service counting as a degree. After serving 4 years does the US Navy consider that equivalent to a degree and can you now be an officer? While serving your country is respected and appreciated, it’s not a 4 year degree.

Now let’s talk about the airlines. The Regionals don’t require any degree whatsoever so you’re fine there. There’s also no Major airline in the US that REQUIRES a 4 year degree. HOWEVER (and this is a big however) if you check any of their websites they ALL list a 4yr degree as “preferred” or “competitive”. What that means is on all their applications there’s a question “Do you have a 4 yr degree?” and it’s followed by 2 boxes, Yes or No. There’s no line for an explanation or btw. Just Yes or No. If you check the Yes box your application goes in one pile, check No it goes in the other and the other goes underneath the Yes pilot. That means they’re going to hire everyone with a degree long before they get to the people without IF they get to it at all because they’re constantly getting new apps with Yeses.