College degree requirement

Hello, this is my first post here and I’ve been needing some clarifications on this topic; I’ve heard different things from different people. I’m 24 and just graduated from college with my BBA “business management” degree. Immediately after graduation I enrolled in ATP’s airline career pilot program to pursue my dream of being a commercial pilot, eventually for a major airline. I am currently a month into my training and am starting to wonder whether or not the fact that I earned a bachelors degree at an accredited university will benefit me in my career as being a pilot in the airlines. Will my BBA ever set me apart from other competition when being hired? Will it ever help me earn a higher salary? Is it a requirement to have a degree for employment in a major airlines anymore? Any feedback and clarification would be appreciated, thanks.

1 Like

Thomas,

The major airlines require a four year degree. The only exception to this is people that flow through from American’s wholly-owned regionals,Piedmont, PSA and Envoy. Without a degree, it is almost impossible to get hired on at a major outside of a flow through agreement to American.

All pilots on a seniority list at a company are governed by the same contract and everybody is paid according to that contract, so your degree will not earn you a higher wage. The only things it will help in is being qualified to apply to a major and potentially applying to management jobs at an airline, if you chose to go that route.

Chris

Thank you for your swift and quick response with this matter. I’m honestly glad to hear that all my hard work while attaining my BBA will pay off in my aviation career. A lot of students at ATP are misinformed regarding this matter and are not taking the education requirement seriously. I will spread this information on to my peers as well.

Thomas,