Accident or incident on my record effects on my carrer

I’m a student pilot and have an incident or accident on my 2nd solo cross country. It was a hard landing and the aircraft was damaged from it. It happen a month ago, but NTSB just start the investigation on it couple days ago. I’m not sure will it be an accident or incident because i don’t know was there substantial damage to the aircraft. I do enjoy flying and want to make pilot as a carrer. Did i shoot myself in the foot before i even start? My goal is become regional pilot then to major pilot. But with an incident or accident on my record, is it still possible?

Jose,

How does your situation fit into the definition of substantial damage?

Substantial damage means damage or failure which adversely affects the structural strength, performance, or flight characteristics of the aircraft, and which would normally require major repair or replacement of the affected component. Engine failure or damage limited to an engine if only one engine fails or is damaged, bent fairings or cowling, dented skin, small punctured holes in the skin or fabric, ground damage to rotor or propeller blades, and damage to landing gear, wheels, tires, flaps, engine accessories, brakes, or wingtips are not considered “substantial damage” for the purpose of this part.

I don’t think that this will have a major impact on your career as long as it was not intentional and didn’t involve drugs or alcohol. You will certainly be asked about it in an interview. Golden rule is be honest and own it.

Tory

the damage my flight school give to my insurance is right after the incident or accident.
firewall lwr half
nose gear assy new
nose gear bracket assy
nose wheel cleveland
nose tire and tube
engine mount inspection
i do not know much about these parts.
I have sent my insurance an email today to ask for a copy of what’s whats paid and for what is being fixed.