Advice on pursuing aviation

Hello Community,

My name is Haile (Hi-lee) Andrews, a 22 yr old. When I came to the United States from Ethiopia in 2009, that was my first time ever flying in an Airplane (the plane was so ginormous!). As an 8-year old who didn’t know planes existed, I was awestruck by the beauty and intricacies’ of a such craft!

Since then, I have not thought about it as much since I have been in the US and have flown pretty much every year to see my grandparents, down south on Southwest. I graduated college with Bachelors in psychology and Minor in communication, because I was intrigued by the human mind and behavior. I applied to PHD programs in clinical psychology and this round, I have been put on waitlist. I have been critically and extremely contemplating about pursuing a career in aviation (as an airline Pilot) because I love traveling, uniqueness of airplanes and I believe flying from pilots position give a different perspective on life and how beautiful everything is from high above and somewhat of a work-life balance.

I plan on taking a discovery flight, as that is a crucial part in making a decision but I still am hesitant due to the fact that it may be a risky path to take and very costly (financially). Any thoughts and advice? Especially, on the life of a pilot, best route for financial efficiency, the time it takes from zero experience to airline pilot or from PPL to airline pilot and honest opinion whether one should pursue such a dream?

Much appreciated,
Haile

Haile,

It sounds to me if you hadn’t been waitlisted flying really wouldn’t be on your mind.

While I love my job its certainly not for everybody and taking a Discovery flight (or 5) is critical as you might not enjoy the experience (it’s very different than ginormous Commercial flying). Even if you do flying requires a huge commitment in both finances and time and shouldn’t be done as an afterthought.

Adam

Hi Adam,