Looking for a career change... Is becoming a pilot the right choice?

Hi All! So I’m 32 years old (married) and currently work in Talent Acquisition AKA Recruiting. I have been in this field for 8 years and his is the 3rd time i’ve been laid off in 8 years due to the economy. I’m really good at my job but when companies are looking to cut cost, we are the first ones out. As you can imagine it’s extremely frustrating.

I’ve wanted to be a pilot since I graduated high school but my parents discouraged me for, what I now call, no actionable reason haha. I’m the last year i’ve come back to understanding why I lived it as a kid and i guess back in my mind I regret not going forward be becoming a pilot. So here are my questions.

Is it worth it at my age?
How long would it take for me to get a job at a major airline (Delta, AA, United, Southwest, etc)
What has been some of the biggest struggles in the first year for a pilot? 2nd year?
What were your schedules like when you first started off? 15 days a month? 6 days straight?

One of my biggest hesitations with just going for it, is the cost of the schooling and equipment. If your ok with sharing what does an average salary look like after a year to 3 years. I was at 125k before my last round of layoffs but I know I’ll have to take a major cut if I want to continue into recruiting. I may never get back to my last salary.

Thanks for responding. I really appreciate it.

Andrei,

First and foremost only you can decide what’s best for you and your family. With that in mind let’s get you some answers:

1. Don’t really understand why, but for some reason people have this impression you need to start flying at 12 or something? The average age for starts is 33-34 so you’re actually ahead of the curve. With that in mind, again only you can decide what’s worth what. I started at 40, long before the pilot shortage and it was the best decision of my life both economically and quality of life wise.