Aviation career with a growing family

Hi everyone,

My name’s Zack and I’m new to the blog and have enjoyed reading everyone inputs and thoughtful advice on various topics. I’m 31, happily married, with a year and a half old son and another child on the way in July. I am at career crossroads, (classic), and have been exploring/researching many different options and weighing the pros/cons. Aviation is something that interests me and something I could see being a viable option to provide for my family long term. That being said I know it can be very taxing on household dynamics and just overall strain on a family.

I would never ask my wife to get used to me being gone unless it was something I could wholeheartedly see providing a better life for us. I LOVE spending time with my son, and can’t imagine not getting to see him every night. I’ve read countless articles/blog posts, researched pros/cons, but in the end I come up with the same question each time I consider aviation as a career. Could my family handle it and is it worth it?

I know this question or a form of it has been asked many times, but would love some insight on how folks have handled pursuing an aviation career while raising a small family?

Cheers!

Welcome, Zach-

Absolutely everybody is in a different situation with different family dynamics, and what works for one might not work for another. Nobody can answer this question for you, but you.

That said, aviation is extremely challenging and one that will take complete focus to get to the 121 world. Earning all my certificates with a family was hard, but my wife went to work full time to help pay the bills and have insurance. Once I got to 121 training, it was 2 months away from home studying 16-18 hours a day. It was, by far, the hardest thing I’ve ever done and took complete focus in order to succeed. My kids were older and didn’t want to be with me every waking minute, so that made the decision easier. :laughing: