Whether to change careers

Hi, I’ve read a lot of your answers to questions (they’ve been great btw) and I could really use some advice to help me decide whether it’s worth it to change careers.

I’m 41, married with three kids, two daughters ages 21 and 15, and a 3 yr old son. I work in roadway construction management as a senior project engineer. I’m also an attorney, but I don’t practice anymore. Over the past few months my son has become completely obsessed with planes. He knows a lot of them from Boeing 747s and Airbus A380s to the SR-71 black bird. He’s managed to spark my interest in planes and learning to fly. I’ve always dreamed of flying, literally having recurring dreams of flying since I was a kid. I’m definitely going to pursue a PPL for recreational flying. I want to impress my son and maybe one day teach him to fly. But I’ve recently started getting very excited about the possibility of switching careers and working as an airplane pilot. I love traveling, apparently changing careers, and challenges. And I would love to work max 1000 hrs a year (that’s my understanding of the FAA regulations) and still make six figures. Currently I make over $150k. I like the salary, as I can support my family well. I truly believe money is not everything, but it’s hard to go backwards with income when you have people depending on you. My wife doesn’t work now, and my mom lives with us half the year.

It seems like seniority is the dominant factor in pay and other things in the airline industry. The question I have to answer by the time I get my PPL is whether it’s too late for me to start this journey.

I could survive for 7 months training full time, but we can’t survive for another approximately 17 months on the CFI pay. Are there options to help me get through this time?

About how long does it take to start making $150K?