Career Change @ 41

Hi, Im new to this forum. Im 41 years old. I hold a Masters Degree equivalent in my field. Intrigued by the changes industry and potential opportunities that may present themselves in our current context. If I went all-in from zero experience, what is a realistic picture of the type of career I could have over a potential 20 year career? Earnings? Major Airline possibility? National? International? Thank you all in advance on this forum for your feedback.

3 Likes

Joshua,

At 41 years old you could be starting at a regional by 43. From there you would have 22 years full of opportunities. Now it all depends on how well you do in your training, if you have a bachelors degree, if you interview well, if you have no incidents, accidents or issues with law enforcement.

With those boxes checked, then it’s up to you. What airlines you get hired by, what bases and aircraft are available to you at the time, your seniority, etc.

My point here is, there are so many variables. Some in your control and others not. However, with a good work ethic and a strong resume and the hiring climate remaining like it is, you should have the opportunity to pursue any kind of flying you want. If you want to check out the current earnings of any position at any airline, go to airlinepilotcentral.com. The pay is pretty amazing but with contract negotiations on the way at many major airlines, it’s bound to go up from there.

Hannah

1 Like

thank you so much Hannah for this insight.

Joshua,

There is a detailed post in the FAQ section that addresses this topic, check it out here: Am I too old to be an Airline pilot?

Just as an aside, the majors will ask what kind of college degree you have, there will not be a box for a master’s equivalent. You either have a master’s degree, or you do not.

Chris