Is 44 to late to become a Pilot?

Hi everyone,

I am looking for a change of careers. I’ve been a manager for the same government agency for 20 years and my child is finally graduating high school this year and starts college this fall. I have a bachelors and masters degree, but cannot bear the thought of working behind a desk anymore. I’ve always wanted to fly and have been thinking about quitting my job and going to flight school. Do you think I could still have a successful career as a pilot starting over this late in life. I have some savings to live off of while I attend school, but would need to finance the education. Is it worth the risk at my age to jump ship and start a new career?

3 Likes

No, you are not too old! I’m leaving my job of 20 years at the end of February. I’m 42 years old and currently in the Horizon Air Pilot Program. if you can get through training in a couple of years,that would still give you close to 20 years in the industry! I say go for it! One thing I do recommend is having your family on board! it makes it a lot smoother! Good Luck!

4 Likes

Gennafer,

You’re not too old and there’s actually very little risk in today’s market (provided you do well in training) as everyone with the licenses, ratings, required time and a pulse is getting hired. This is not a sales pitch, it’s insanity.

Honestly I used to give long narratives on being realistic about your expectations for your career but this pilot shortage has turned the industry upside down. Last week Delta annouced 767 Capt slots for pilots in under a year. Just a few years ago you were looking at 20yrs for such a position. It’s unheard of.