41 and thinking about a career change

Aloha forum! My first post. I am 41 and thinking of a career change. I have an A&P mechanics license and a Assoiciates degree from Embry Riddle. I have wanted to fly since I can remember. Is it too late for me? I want to do this and getting financing has been difficult. I will have to rely on my in laws and hopefully they help me out. I currently make almost six figures in the job I have right now. Is it worth starting over and doing this? My father is a pilot and he says I should go for it. It’s just scary thinking about quitting my job that I have been doing for ten years and starting from the beginning. help! What should I do?

Robert,

Quite honestly, you are asking a lot of questions that only you can answer. We can’t tell you if it is worth it or not, that is something that you will have to decide for yourself. I can tell you that I very much enjoy my job and derive a lot of pleasure from it, but that doesn’t mean that everybody would.

As to your age, take a look at our FAQ section, there is a detailed breakdown there of how age affects career expectations.

I should also point out that if you want to work for a major, you will need to finish your degree at some point.

Take a look around this forum, there is a lot of good information here that should help you decide if the career is right for you.

Chris

Robert,

Not to be harsh but at 41 you should certainly know yourself better than any of us do and what’s best for you. You say “I have wanted to fly since I can remember”, is that true? Not to get overly philosophical but you have one life but don’t know if satisfying a lifelong dream is worth it? As for is it too late I recommend you peruse this forum since every other post asks the same question and the answers haven’t changed.

“Help?” The Lord helps those who help themselves :slight_smile:

Adam

Chris and Adam,