Career change for a dream job

Hello everyone,

First and foremost, I’d like to express my gratitude to this community for being an invaluable resource. Many of my questions have already found answers here.
As of now, I am 23 years old. It’s been five years since I graduated from high school, and during this time, I’ve been having a strong interest in the program that ATP offers. I’ve always dream of becoming an airline pilot, driven not by financial aspirations but by a respect for the aviation profession. My fascination with planes led me to self-study the subject a little bit, and it’s something I find incredibly captivating.

However, the substantial cost of flight training has been a major deterrent. The fear of incurring significant debt has held me back from pursuing this passion. At present, I am in my second year of college, working towards an Information Technology degree. While I do enjoy my classes and appreciate the knowledge I’m gaining in my current field, every time school gets hard, there’s always a lingering sense of regret that I haven’t pursued my dream of becoming a pilot.

My college education is sponsored by Starbucks, which means I am debt-free. Currently, I’m contemplating the idea of dropping out of college, securing a loan through Sallie Mae, and commencing my training, starting from scratch, next January. I acknowledge that this is a risky move, and I’m still apprehensive about incurring debt. However, I believe it may be a risk worth taking, as I anticipate that, upon securing a job with a regional airline, I will be able to comfortably repay my loan while enjoying a decent quality of life.

I am reaching out to seek advice from the experienced pilots in this community. What are your thoughts on my particular situation, and do you have any advice to offer?

Thank you in advance.

“Every time school gets hard”?

Luis,