Career Change Looking to Fly Internationally

Hi everyone,

I’m no stranger to aviation, as my dad is a corporate/private pilot. Most of my core memories from childhood are fly-ins and taking out our Bellanca Viking on weekend trips. At 6 years old, my dad already had me flying the plane and communicating with the tower, who I’m sure were delighted to hear from a little girl on the radio.

And yet, when deciding on my career, I didn’t want to follow in my dad’s footsteps, because who wants to be like their parents? Flying is awesome, sure, but I wanted to be DIFFERENT.

Idiot, idiot, idiot.

Anyway, several years later and I’m realizing my mistake. I did a Bachelor’s and a Master’s and now work in recruitment, only to realize that I loathe the office life and can’t imagine spending the rest of my life in the corporate world. So, I’ve been looking for a career change.

I’m working on my PPL to start, before I take the big leap, but unsure what direction I want to go. I had thought the airlines because in the old days they used to do tuition reimbursement, but I’ve heard that’s more and more scarce.

My other main concern is that I want to work internationally. I did my master’s abroad and lived in Europe for 5 years, and my fiancé is from Spain. For now, we want to be in the US, but the long term goal is to return to Spain. However, I know that airlines only let you fly internationally with seniority, which means more and more time where we’re stuck in the US.

My questions then are:

• Should I fly with a regional airline and then go to a major U.S. airline? Or should I do US regional and then apply for one of the European ones? I should have my EU citizenship in the next few years, so right when I would be moving to a major airline.

• If I stay with a U.S. airline, is it better to do one of their programs?

• Which airlines allow you to fly more/live internationally?