Choosing an ATP location

Hi there!

I’m a prospective student doing my research into flight schools, and ATP is looking better all the time to me. I’m a bit of a unique case, as I’m currently living outside the US (American citizen, though), and have been a university teacher for almost 10 years. Flying has always been a dream of mine, and it seems like I might be able to follow that dream after my current contract is up in mid-2022, so I’m starting to do some due dilligence.

Because I’m living abroad, when I do return to the States, I’ll basically be able to choose where I want to live, and so I wanted some input from you fine folks about how to go about choosing which ATP location could be right for me. Are there any factors other than personal preference to consider when picking? Flying weather? Instructor to student ratio? There’s not really any info on the ATP page about the different locations to go by. I’ve heard that Arizona and Florida are popular choices, but even within those two there are so many locations.

I guess I do have another unrelated question as well: how early would you move to your desired training location in order to get all the pre-work done? That is, go in for your introductory flight, study and complete the written exams, take your FAA medical, etc. Since I’m not in the US, I can’t exactly pop in to an ATP location for a tour/discovery flight, so I’m relying on your help!

Logan

Logan,

ATP strives to deliver the same quality level of training and resources throughout all their locations. Aircraft, instructor/student ratio etc are all consistent throughout. Any of the reasons you mention are as good as any to choose a location. Whether it’s weather, convenience or simply “I always thought it would be cool to live in…” you can be confident you’ll receive the same excellent training and all the resources you need to be successful.