Commercial pilot - need advice for next step

Hello all,

I’m a farmer from northern Montana, I like farming, but at this point in my life I believe what would really make me happy is to fly and get paid to do it. I’ll be 36 next month, I have a commercial ticket without an instrument rating and 300 hours. From what I’ve read I’m not too old to do this, but sooner is better than later. I’m trying to determine the best way forward as far as training and building time, but also advice on which regional you think is the best. I would prefer one with a hub in the western US so its faster for me to get back home to my family on my time off.

While researching the different airlines and trying to figure out how much money I would make starting off I could use a little help on how much time a person can get per bid. I see the minimums are anywhere from 60 to almost 80. If I want more hours can i get that or is that usually gobbled up by someone with seniority?

Also, do you recommend applying for one of the pathway programs such as Skywest or Envoy cadet to get a foot in the door before you can actually apply for a FO job?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Jason,

I would plan no more than 80 hours per month. Sometimes extra flying is there, sometimes it is not.

I am a big fan of the Envoy cadet program. It offers a lot of benefits that other programs do not. If that is where you would like to work, I would absolutely apply for it.

1 Like

Jason,

Well obviously first you need to do some more training to earn your Instrument and ME rating. You’ll then need to build another 1200hrs and if you want to do that by instructing (the most common route) that means you’ll also need your CFIs. While you’re not old you do need to get moving so I’d recommend an accelerated training program like ATPs.