Commuting Regional

Hey!

I currently live in Nashville, Tennessee and plan on working for endeavor air or psa airlines one day. If i work for endeavor I plan on upgrading one day to Delta and if i work at psa airline I plan on upgrading to American Airlines. This is because both Endeavor/Delta are based in Atlanta and Psa/American are based in Charlotte NC.

However I did want to commute when i’m still a regional pilot until i upgrade to the majors one day. So I would be going from Nashville to Atlanta or Nashville to Charlotte. Until I get promoted to a first officer in the majors that’s when i plan on moving states.

Do you have any advice or what the lifestyle would look like in those couple of years?

Thank you!

Androu,

First I’d like to point out it sounds like you’re counting on a flow to a Major. While they’re nice to have in your back pocket, I wouldn’t completely count on it. There are any number of reasons the flow might be cancelled or you might simply change your mind as to who you want to fly for. What I’m saying is there’s no reason you couldn’t do PSA to Delta or Endeavor to American or anywhere else.

As for what your life is going to look like commuting it won’t be great but you’ll be fine. The majority of pilots (particularly at Regionals) commute and all make it work. Fortunately either is a short flight and you should have a few flights a day to get you to work. You will lose days off and there will be times you won’t get home on your last day. You will also have to find a crashpad or apt for sitting reserve or again when you get stuck or the day prior of you’ve got an early start.

It’s really not something to be stressing about at this stage. Many pilots commute and while no one recommends it they all survive the experience. Look at Chris, he’s been commuting his whole career.

Adam

Androu,