Do I finish my Degree first?

Hi everyone, I have a question pertaining to my future start date with ATP and whether I should finish my college degree before or after the ATP program.

I am currently studying for my FAA Airman Knowledge Tests and feel strongly that I should have these completed before starting the ATP program.

The other thing I am weighing before starting ATP is my college degree status. I currently have 85 credits of college coursework completed with about one year or so left of coursework to complete.
I would plan to finish my college degree online.

I am trying to decide if it’s worth finishing college before ATP or completing a degree after I finish the ATP program. My ultimate goal after ATP / (& building time required) would be to fly for a regional carrier and eventually the majors.

I am open to honest feedback, thank you for your time.

• Daniel

Daniel,

Obviously your call but we ALWAYS recommend finishing your degree first, particularly when you’re this close to finishing it.

Adam

Daniel,

That depends on you and how honest you are with yourself. It’s more difficult to finish your degree later than to finish it now since you’re currently taking classes, but it can be done if you are able to hold yourself accountable.

Tory

Daniel,

You’re in a position so close to finishing your degree that I would just bite the nail on the head to complete. Yes we’re all trying to get into the airlines as quick as possible, but if your end goal is to fly for any major, that degree is going to matter. Most of the new contracts that were negotiated in recent months 2024, in which they’ll be relooked at so pay shouldn’t be of worries…it’s the seniority.