Embry-Riddle vs. Liberty University (a close to home 141 school)

Hello everyone, I hope you all are doing well.

I am an 18 year old freshman at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. I choose this school because it is the “best” at what it does. I know the training I am receiving is top notch but it comes at a very big cost. I have been considering transferring to a Liberty University, a college very close to home that offers an aviation degeee and is also a Part 141 school. I have a friend back home who is going to community college and earning all of his ratings on his own. I really would like some expert opinions about my options here. What I am really trying to ask is; Will going to Embry-Riddle give me any advantage over going to another lesser known flight school?

Parker,

Short answer is no. The Regionals need bodies and as long as you have the licenses, ratings and hours they couldn’t care less where you got your training. By the time you get to a Major they want to see a 4yr degree, a clean record, the hours and some nice letters of recommendations.

As long as we’re on the subject I have to be honest, I’ve never been a fan of aviation degrees. You can be a pilot at a Major with a degree in accounting but you can’t be an accountant with an aviation degree. “But Adam I don’t want to be an accountant (or a lawyer, doctor etc)!”. I get that and hopefully things will work out just fine but life doesn’t always go as planned. Suffer some medical issues, have an accident or incident or the industry takes a turn and it’s ALWAYS a good idea to have a Plan B. Just some food for thought.

Adam

1 Like

Adam,

Thank you for your quick reply. It was very informative and quite a relief to hear as well. I will definitely look into other degrees that may interest me. If there is any other advice you are willing to give to aspiring pilots, I would be more than happy to hear it.

Once again, thank you for your help and I wish you safety and fulfillment in your career.