Experience (Admissions)

Hey, I am reaching out to someone that could potentially answer my question and give me some words of wisdom. First I would like to start out by saying I do not have a degree right now; Once I am in a good point in my life I want to set away some time to get that knocked out online while in a career. But experience wise, I have been in the Navy and have served as government contractor for the past 6 years including multiple deployments to the middle east and africa. I say that just to point out that I have experience in a workplace environment and gives me a bit of maturity for the workplace. It has recently become my dream to be an airline pilot not only for money and perks but just to have a career in something I can be proud of. I am 25 so I think that there is no better time for me financially and mentally to branch out and start something new. The thing I am most worried about is the fact that I have no Aviation experience and will be literally starting from Ground zero and wont be admitted. Words of wisdom encouraged lol

Tommie,

Thank you for your service, my grandfather was in the Navy. It has not been uncommon when I was instructing to see a lot of service members looking to transition into the flying career. I don’t see a problem with the prerequisite of 2-years of college or work history being a problem, Admissions would be the ones to determine that.

Flying has been in a lot of our dreams and we turn them into reality. If you haven’t already, you need to take an introductory lesson. It is important that you feel comfortable and open to flying a plane. There is a big difference between sitting in the back of an airplane versus flying it. If you have a nearby ATP location to you (which there are now 73), I recommend scheduling an introductory flight to get acquainted with the idea of flying. If there is no local ATP to you, check your nearest airport for a flight school that way you cand determine.