Firefighter to Pilot

Hi,

I am currently a full time firefighter in Utah. I am 38 and wanting to finally pursue my dream of becoming a commercial airline pilot. I am wondering what you all recommend I look for when researching flight schools. Although I work full time I have a schedule that’s conducive to pursuing other interests - I work 48 hour shifts with four days in between.

Obviously based on my age I would like to find a school with an accelerated program. Is this possible to do while maintaining my current job?

Thanks in advance!

Henry,

If you look up and to the left you’ll clearly see the ATP logo. This is ATPs forum and all the mentors are former students and instructors who are now successful airline pilots. We’re not salesmen, but we were all once where you were and after doing our research concluded ATP was the best option.

There are now many schools offering accelerated programs but ATP pioneered it and all are basically clones. Difference is ATP has been doing this for over 35yrs and has placed thousands of pilots over the years. The bad news is there is no way to successfully train at ATP and work at the same time. ATP compresses what usually takes years into just months and therefore requires a full-time commitment.

Adam

Having to leave my current career is a daunting thought; however, this is something I’ve wanted so badly for so long that I think it is worth the risks. Don’t get me wrong - being a firefighter is an incredibly fulfilling job - but it doesn’t come close to the experience of flying in a plane. I am in a good situation as my wife and I don’t have kids and she works full time. The fear of leaving my current job and then not succeeding with ATP for whatever reason is what gives me pause.

How soon after school do most of ATP’s students actually begin careers as pilots? Whether getting paid to be a CFI or any form of professional aviator.

Henry,