Rumors regarding ATP?

Hi everyone. I am planning on enrolling to ATP in a month and I am curious about your experience w them. I have heard mixed reviews w some being that the instructors are there to get their 1500 hours w no regard to training the students and that they teach too quickly. I am a 10 year paramedic (training was tough kinda like nursing school slammed into 7 months) looking for a change to fly which has been a dream of mine for many years. I have a great work/study ethic I am hoping you guys might have some input to the program or any advice. I wish you all the best and maybe one day see you in the cockpit.

2 Likes

Hi Ralph. I thought my instructors were great at ATP. They were always professional and created a safe flying atmosphere. I never heard any complaints from my fellow classmates either. It is very fast paced, but the curriculum is very structured and allows you to go from zero time to having all your ratings in ~6 months, which is unheard of at other schools. I highly recommend them.

Hey Ralph and Welcome!

Hope you don’t mind but I moved your post out to it’s own topic because I didn’t want it to get lost and I think it’s a great question.

ATP requires all their instructors to got through standardization training (in addition to the usual FAA CFI requirements) to insure the training you get in NY is the same as you get in CA. Personally I had an excellent experience with ATP which is the primary reason I participate in this forum (kinda spreading the gospel if you will). I also know for a fact not everyone does. ATP has many locations and many instructors and frankly some are better than others and yes I’m sure everyone one of them is there to build time (I sure was!). So what does this all mean? So let’s talk about this.