Flight Training Questions

Greetings,

Like many individuals who want to become an airline pilot, my interest and passion for flight began at a very early age. I graduated college three months ago with a degree in business, a little over two months into my office job, i continue to wish i flew for a living. Because of this i am giving ATP flight school serious consideration, as it offers the fastest track that i am aware of to the airlines. The first question i have relates to housing. My girlfriend and i have been dating for nearly four years now and we plan to move in together in the near future. I am assuming that the housing that can be included in ATP’s cost would not allow for a significant other to live with a student. With a Part-time job being out of the question due to training, is there any way that one could take out additional loan money to supplement rent and other living expenses? Also, as far as flight instructing goes, ATP’s website advertises an earning potential of $42,000 a year with flying 100 hours a month. Realistically, how many hours can one expect to fly per month as a flight instructor? Lastly, when it comes to being an airline pilot, In an average week how nights do you spend on the road?

Thank you in advance for your time

1 Like

Hi Jeremy and Welcome!

As you said, many people have aspirations to fly. You’ve got some good questions, let’s see if we can help.

You’re correct you’re girlfriend would not be able to stay in ATP’s housing (it’s dorm style and you’d be sharing a room), but you could (and most people do) take out their loan for a higher amount to cover expenses. Exactly how much above the tuition costs you could exceed would of course depend on your credit. You could contact ATP Financial people for more detailed info.