Future professional pilot

Hi! I just wanted to thank you guys for your time answering questions and posting on here. I’ve been following the career for a long time. I have spent numerous hours going through airline pilot life, other aviation forums, and reading numerous blogs. I have been interested in flying for a living for many, many years. Financial and spousal barriers prevented that for a long time…no support for me to do this. Now divorced and single…spousal support almost done (yay!), I’ve finally decided to take the plunge. I still remember my first time in a C-172 16 years ago. I was hooked. I still break my neck to watch anything moving in the air. I’m now 38 and although a part of me is nervous about being “older” and entering the profession, reading through these posts really encouage me to go ahead and do it. I have a 4 year degree and I’m an RN, so there’s always that to fall back on if the industry takes a hit. Anyways. I’ve been lurking this site for a while. Just wanted to take the time to thank y’all (yes that’s a real word lol) for your time on here.

Justin

1 Like

Justin,

Thank you for stepping out of the shadows for a minute and saying hi. Many of us have had obstacles but truly where there’s a will there’s a way. I started at 39 and LIFE IS GREAT my friend!

Any questions feel free.

Adam

Thanks for the response! If I think of anything, I certainly will ask. I’ve researched this industry for so long. A friend of mine said the other day…“I don’t think i know anyone that knows so much about something without actually being in it”. I’m nervous and excited at the same time. I’m looking to start my training at ATP in the next few months. If there is one piece of advice you would give to someone coming in to the industry…what would it be? Thanks.

Justin,