Intro/Questions

Hi all,

First and foremost, thank you Chris and Adam for all of the info and support you guys provide on this forum! I have been reading every post over the last week, and you guys have definitely led me to take the next step in becoming a pilot. I researched the possibility in 2007, and I was quickly discouraged by the price of training, and the possibility that I would not get a job after training. Reading through this forum, and reviewing the ATP website, the chances seem significantly better now. I have contacted ATP and scheduled my introductory flight in Houston later this month, and I hope to start in January if everything goes according to plan.

I do have a few questions for you guys, but I’ll tell you a little about me first. I’m 31 years old, and I have been a police officer for 13 years. As most of you can probably tell from the news, police work is not what is used to be, and I don’t believe it will get better anytime soon. While I’m not one to run away from a challenge, I’m simply tired of working in a high-crime area “serving” an extremely ungrateful group of people.

Being a pilot has been a dream of mine since I flew with a friend 15 years ago. My experience is very minimal, but I LOVE it. Quitting my current career making $41,000 a year and moving to a low paying FO position is not much of a worry, especially after reading posts about pay increases over the years. My schedule has almost always been terrible, so that is not a worry either. Now that I’ve made you doze off with that lengthy intro, here are my questions… :slight_smile:

1. I would gladly take a position with any regional airline after training, but which are considered better to work for and why?

2. Which major airlines should one strive to work for and why?

3. I do not have a degree, but I am more than willing to start working on one ASAP. Which college would you recommend while working a pilot’s schedule?