Getting a degree and flight training question

Hello, I’m a sophomore in high school who’s always had the passion for flying, I use an academic level flight simulator daily, which has helped a VERY large amount while in the process of building flight time. But I just wanted to know how I can get all of the necessary training done and still get a 4 year bachelor’s degree. Currently, I have 25 hours of flight time at my local flight academy which trains people all the way up to ATPL. I was wondering if; because it is connected to a college, would it be more wise to go there and gather the necessary licences and certificates while going to school? And if I wanted to go with ATP how would that work in conjunction with getting a 4 year degree? Also, my goal is to end up at Envoy where I can then get a chance to go to American, and I hear that they have a cadet program. With the cadet program in mind, how could I attain a 4 year degree and attend the program? Thanks

Sean,

In general we don’t recommend aviation degrees for 2 reasons. First they generally are very expensive and second you’re putting all your eggs in one basket should a pilot career not work out (either by choice or circumstance). That said I’m curious as to why you haven’t had this conversation with your flight school and their associated college? You should see what they have to offer as it’s never a bad idea to get as much info as you can.

If you decided to go with ATP that would be done AFTER you earn your degree which again we usually recommend. This gives you the opportunity to have a second career as a backup and focus all your attention to your studies to do as well as possible as many airlines will want to see your GPA.