Has it been done at 41?

Hi, Folks-

I’m 41 and fit. I have a Master’s degree and a strong work ethic. I’m making a career change, and it’s very important to me that my age will not be a limiting factor in my new career path. If I’m going to chase this dream of aviation (and make this investment) I’d like to know that as long as I perform, I’ll have access to the same opportunities that a younger pilot would have. My goal, of course, is to work my way up to a major carrier as rapidly as possible and to continue to learn and advance once I’m there.

Do you know any mid-career professionals, roughly my age, who have pulled this off? Any advice or cautionary tales?

FYI, I’m not licensed but I have flown before and I loved it. I plan to schedule an admissions flight out of Sacramento soon, to check that box and to see the facility.

Thanks,
Ben

Ben,

The reality is that you will be limited by your age. The airlines run off the seniority system, so the pilots that are hired at the youngest ages will be the ones that end up as 777, 787, 330, etc captains. It takes seniority to get to those positions, you can be the best pilot in the world, but there is no skipping the line in the seniority system.

Also, you will have to retire from the airlines prior to reaching age 65, that is a FAA rule.

That isn’t to say that you won’t have a decent career in the airlines, but don’t expect to retire as a wide body captain at the majors either.

Chris

1 Like

Hi, Chris-

I’m grateful for your quick and honest response. Thank you.

So if you were me, and supposing you were dead set on aviation, what would you consider your “best case scenario” career trajectory to be? That is to say, what is attainable if I do manage to become a decent pilot? Could major carriers, international routes etc. still be in the cards, even in an FO capacity for instance? Is there some equally challenging and fulfilling alternative that I should know about?

Thanks again,
Ben

Chris,