How to make the best use of my time

Hello everyone, I’ve been pouring over this forum for a few days now but I have a few questions I’m hoping to get some clarification on!

First, due to a variety of circumstances I won’t be able to begin my schooling until November which is naturally not entirely ideal, but I want to make the most use of my time between now and then. I know I can take the FAA’s written exams before I start with ATP, would it make sense for me to focus on those over the next ten months so I can get them out of the way? Are they an efficient way for me to ensure I have a lot of knowledge going into the school itself? I know there are also apps such as Sporty’s that I can use to study as well, and I also know ATP’s course is very intensive, so I’d love to be able to go into the school with as much prior knowledge as I can muster considering the substantial time I have to prepare. I have seen that students with start dates get a welcome bundle, but I don’t know if I’m too far out for them to provide me with that just yet. Any suggestions in that regard will be much appreciated!

Second, assuming there are no substantial delays in my actual training, could I actually expect to be able to work for a regional after my 7 months with ATP?

For added context, I currently work for a regional carrier in a corporate role. I haven’t reached out to them about the career change just yet, but I’m hoping it’ll put me in an advantageous position for their cadet program. If anyone has a similar experience I’d love to hear it!

In general, I’m mostly seeking advice on how I can most efficiently utilize the next few months to ensure I’m not only well-prepared for ATP’s course, but also to hopefully be knowledgeable enough that it will make the intensity a little less overwhelming.

Miranda,