In search of guidance

Flying has always been a passion of mine and I have been living out of a suitcase all my life. But it wasn’t until a few months ago that I realized I could be doing this for a living instead of doing the traditional corporate office job. I am 32 and finishing up my PPL. I have 2 graduate degrees (neither of them aviation-related) and have been working for Corporate America for the last 6 years and very much over it. I am relatively new to aviation, and in need of guidance as I don’t want to waste any more time than necessary. Being a major airline pilot has never been very appealing to me, but it almost seems like this is the route to take. Ideally, I prefer corporate flying and charter flights, as I enjoy meeting people and building connections, but from my understanding, the training path is the same for every for-pay position in aviation. I am currently part time at my local flight school, but once I obtain my PPL, I would like to pursue this full time and this is where I am getting lost. Is ATP strictly just for airlines? Is airline experience a stepping stone towards corporate flying? Does it make sense to do ATP if my end goal is not the airlines? Can someone please provide a recommendation? I am very serious about this but struggling with the next steps. Thank you in advance!

Victoria,

Great questions so let’s get you some answers. No need to get lost.