Indecisive

I am currently a Sophomore at LSU. My family and friends have always told me to become a pilot. Aviation has been my passion since I was a child. My whole life I have always looked up to pilots and airline crew. I have always “aggravated” my friends by talking about airplanes too much. Everytime I see an airplane flying in the sky I always scream for everyone I’m with to look at it. My friends always laugh about how I love airplanes more than a 6 year old. I have been thinking about this for a while. So should I become a pilot?

Seth,

My son LOVES football but at 5’8" and 160lbs he’ll never play pro ball. I love the ocean. I dive, paddle and spend as much time as I can on it or in it but I’m not a boat captain or oceanographer. I love music but I’m not a musician. Many people love many things, art, music, cars etc. What we choose to do with those affections is entirely up to the individual.

I don’t know you nor anything about your life or what’s important to you so there’s really no way I or anyone else can advise you what you should or should not be. Further if I said no, you shouldn’t be a pilot would it matter? It definitely shouldn’t.

What does stand out to me however is the fact with all this love for planes you’ve never explored the possibility by taking a lesson? If that is in fact the case I strongly recommend you do. Then you can see if you love or even like flying as much as you love airplanes as they are 2 very different things.

Adam

3 Likes

Seth,

Only you can decide if being a pilot is right for you. I love the job and cannot imagine doing anything else, but that is my experience. I suggest you spend some serious time on this forum, especially on the FAQ section and the “Flying the Line” sections as there is some great info there that might help you decide.

Chris

Seth,

It has already been said, but I just want to add my voice to the choir and also say that an intro flight would really help you answer that question.