Is ATP for me?

So I recently just turned 20 years old and have decided that I want to become a pilot. But my question is what route should I take? Where should I begin? Now I keep in mind I don’t know anything at all about planes but I do love the idea of me becoming a pilot someday. I was looking into ATP flight school and it sounds great! I heard you have to work your butt off but I am more then willing to do so. But should I go to ATP if I have no knowledge at all? I heard it’s very fast paced. Thank you.

David,

The vast majority of students who come to ATP do so without any prior pilot knowledge. After all, ATP is a flight school and they specialize in teaching people how to fly :slight_smile:

Check out the FAQ section as there is a wealth of information that will help point you in the right direction.

Chris

Thank you. I really appreciate you responding. Yeah I’ve read about obtaining a four year degree for a major airline but the problem is it takes four years and a lot of money. Which is the reason why I want to take the ATP route. This semester I obtain my associates. Now keep in mind I stay in Chicago. The cold and Windy City. I feel like if I want to pilot train I don’t want to do it here. I also want to save as much money as possible

Okay thank you for answering. I was also wondering if I decide to go the ATP program can I go to any of their 39 locations?

David,

Yes you can go to any ATP location you. Just to dovetail with Chris many ATP students have little or no flight experience or aviation knowledge.