Is it right for me?

Hello. I am new to the forum and so far have been loving all of the information. I am sure you have received similar questions or topics that I am about to ask or bring up.

I recently graduated college about a year and half ago. Coming out of college I was dead set on going into the healthcare field. I took a year off and applied to grad school for Occupational Therapy. I got in and realized the population is not right for me. It is a lot of special needs, with elderly its dressing, bathing, and toileting, and outpatient its just hand therapy. Not that there is anything wrong with it, I just needed something more functional and exercise based seeing that sports have been part of my entire life. I played basketball in college, so school and basketball have taken up my entire time and now that I graduated I realized there are so many different opportunities career wise. I know that there is BS in any profession, but honestly from working in an outpatient clinic I was already over all the documentation needed.

I was recently introduced to the pilot career and have done two demo flights. I am an adrenaline junkie and thought the flights were really fun. I am not sure if I could be in an airplane all of the time though. ( I am a hands on person, so being able to do something for a while and then determining if I like it or not is the best way for me…which doesn’t help) I have been to the ATP school that is near me and the people there are WONDERFUL. Everyone that I have spoken too has said only go into the career if you absolutely love it and I have no idea what I love or am passionate about.

I like helping others, I like learning about the muscles and body, I like traveling, I enjoyed my demo flights, and I like being around people.

Some big things that draw me to aviation are that you can work your way up to great seniority and have good pay with good time off, you get to travel, you get to fly, and you get to meet new people.