Am I cut out for this?

For the past year I have been preparing to go to ATP Flight School. I did 2 intro flights, fun, but a little intimidating. I asked the instructor to stall the plane so I could see what it felt like (they are perceived as scary). It is in fact a bit scary. Once we leveled out, totally fine. I also asked if we could go through a steep turn so
I could feel a little force. I have been securing Medical, Financing, etc. In that whole process all I thought about was being in the air. I follow a lot of YouTube instructors (watch their instruction videos daily). I just received loan approval and now all I have to do is, sign. Reality just hit me like a ton of bricks, this is real. I’m quitting my career and hopping in an airplane.

About me…

I’m 33 years old with career in sales/recruiting, a BA in Business. Married, no kids. My wife is extremely supportive. Once upon a time I did struggle with math/algebra (not so much anymore). I have no knowledge of aviation. I feel very unfulfilled in my career. I want something adventurous that has a good pay scale and that I can do until retirement. Sitting in an office is boring. With my wife working at Delta, I hop on a plane whenever I have a chance. I once took a two hour flight, had breakfast and flew home, just to get in the air.

In the past few days, I have cycled through so many thoughts and fears and doubts.

1. Am I smart enough to handle the knowledge required to do this?
  2. Am I capable of flying a multi-million dollar machine and not kill anyone?
  3. Will it be a worth while investment?
  4. This is going to have an impact on my family, my finances, etc.

My question for you all is, has anyone here felt these last minute jitters, and if not is it rational?

1 Like
  1. I’m a Criminal Justice Major at the regionals, you’ll be fine. Have a good study habit.

2. Training and continued practice = proficiency. You’ll be fine just like many other pilots