Just need an advice in life

It’s been a while since I’ve been around. Life has been fairly steady lately, and as I approach high school graduation, I find myself grappling with important decisions about my future path. I have some experience flying various aircraft—Cessnas, Cirrus, Gulfstreams—and I’m quite certain that I have the courage and passion to pursue a career as a pilot. Fortunately, my sister’s ex-husband, who is a private pilot, has generously imparted his knowledge to me.

However, there are three significant concerns that are slowing down my decision-making process:

1. Doubt in my ability to successfully complete pilot school. (I am a good learner, but not as good in precise sciences like math, but I also feel like if it’s passion driven, then you can do it.)
  2. Financial constraints, as pilot training is notoriously expensive and private loans don’t seem to offer favorable terms.
  3. Resistance from my family, particularly my sister, who harbors negative associations with pilots due to her past relationship.

As a result, I’ve considered pursuing a four-year business degree first, with the intention of eventually circling back to fulfill my lifelong dream of becoming a pilot. I fear that without pursuing aviation, I may settle for a business-related job that fails to ignite my passion.

I seek advice on how to address these three counterarguments and determine the best course of action for my future.

Also I heard that having a degree before becoming a pilot is good, what are you guys thoughts?

Forever thankful. Sasha V.

Sasha,

First and foremost, NO ONE, least of all us can tell you what you should and should not do with your life. That said I do have some thoughts. As for your questions: