Looking for new career path

I am currently a part-time college student looking for a new career path in my 2nd year. I decided after my first that the major I was in was not for me, and dropped a lot of classes the 2nd year to save money and started looking for a new plan. I am really interested in becoming a commercial, private, or cargo pilot, but only have the one year of college and am not sure what to study. How do airlines look at your college degrees and how long will i need to go to school for What kind of classes will I need to take in order to become one of the three I listed before. Thanks!

Noah,

First I recommend you take a look at our FAQ section as there’s a ton of great info there (https://airlinepilot.life/c/Ask-your-questions-and-get-real-answers-from-real-pilots/frequently-asked-questions). Next we have to define some terms. When you say “commercial”, I’m going to assume you mean airline. When you say “private” I’m thinking you mean corporate or charter for a “private” owner or company and cargo can mean anything from a small single engine Caravan all the way to FedEx. Short answer is in all those examples if you want to progress up the chain you’re going to need a 4yr degree. The good news is none of them require any specific field of study, major or courses. It’s simply the employers want to see a degree. I recommend you study something you have interest in as a possible backup AND I also recommend you take an intro flight or a few lessons. While many people think they want to be pilots until you’ve actually sat at the controls of a small plane you simply won’t know.

Adam

Adam,