Looking for some guidance

Currently a freshman at a local state college (in the aviation program). I am debating between doing military flying, or trying to go directly to a regional. Is one looked down upon over the other?.. Thanks!

I am a current student with ATP, and I also served, although without flying. From what I’ve gathered the industry would view you very similarly with military flight as they would with a school like ATP. The main question is whether you want to make the personal sacrifice of serving your country. You should never look at the military as a way to gain something, although you will gain more then you foresee. If you want to serve then you should serve. If you want to be an airline pilot, the military is possibly not the most efficient route.service is not for everyone, and that is perfectly ok. The decision should be made on whether you are willing to give away what ultimately could be one tenth of your life under contract and believe in yourself enough to know that nothing will go wrong in the flight training portion of that contract. If it does you will be given another job that may be related to flying or it may not, but the time on the contract remains either way.
All that being said, there is nothing like having served, I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Just be realistic with your options, and give it the due diligence it deserves in your research. Don’t just commission for the uniform, or the flight time or whatever else. Choose that path if you want to become a leader of men, and have the weight of the world on your shoulders. You have to be willing to give part of yourself away to the cause.
Good luck, and I hope this helps.

2 Likes