Medical clearance

Good Afternoon,
Has anyone had any snags receiving their medical certificate. I’m currently working on my ppl with the local school in MD but my class 3 it taking forever. I flew w/ waivers with the military (Class 3- non pilot). I passed everything with the AME but I take hydroxychloroquine for my skin form of lupus. I submitted everything from the docs derm/ophthalmology saying everything was good to go… but this is discouraging…
Once you receive the class 3 how hard was it to achieve a class 1 from the faa and how long did it take?

Joseph,

In general medical deferrals can take months to years and cost thousands of extra dollars depending on what the FAA requires.

I can’t say how your experience will be when you apply for a 1st. I am just a pilot. Your AME may have a better idea. I would contact them.

Tory

Joseph,

As Tory already mentioned, you should be contacting your AME for any medical questions as none of us are doctors (AMEs) or lawyers (for those with judicial questions). A first-class medical involves stringent requirements because you’re considering yourself an applicant to carry many lives behind a closed door. Take it for what it is worth, this is an article published online so it may/may not be accurate, just me doing a simple Google search for “first-class medical disqualifiers” - again, seek proper information from an AME:

Though it sounds like your medical may have been sent to Oklahoma City for a review, you could check the status via MedXpress portal, a newer feature that came out earlier this year - or contacting your AME.

Brady

I spoke with the folks at OKC, it’s being reviewed as we speak.

Joseph,

We hope you get the answers you’re looking for as expeditiously as possible. Luckily with the new tracking tool, you can watch the wheels of the FAA turn even if it’s slow. In the meantime, let us know if there is anything else we can help you with.

Hannah