Medical disqualifications and College

I am 19 years old and have Crohn’s Disease. I was born with it and do have to take medicine every 2 weeks for it. I can be lenient with it, meaning I can take it a few days after I am supposed to take it. It doesn’t affect me and hasn’t for a very long time. I was wondering if this disqualifies me for being a pilot. Also I am currently in college for a degree in Biology, should I finish out my degree before going to ATP or should I join ATP as soon as possible. I have zero flight experience.

David,

I know how you feel, Crohns is very prevalent in my family. A quick search on google indicated that as long as you can prove to the FAA that you have medication and you are able to control it, as well as “require full medical documentation before a certification decision can be made”, then hopefully you’ll be able to get your First Class Medical. But I know the admins on this forum will most likely have more information they can give you.

As for college, I believe that is fully up to you, from what I’ve read on this site (and its been a lot of reading), that a college degree can really help you in the future when applying for the major airlines. It is true that many airlines are going away with a college degree requirement but some airlines like Delta still in fact require one.

For me I attended Syracuse University for a year, personally college just was not my thing, if that makes any sense, and now I’ll most likely have to attend online classes after I am done at ATP while working at a regional.

But like I sad it completely up to if you decide to finish or not, depending on how close you are you might want to finish it out before enrolling with ATP.

The admins on here are great and I’m sure they have a lot more information that I do, but thought I’d go ahead and share my thoughts.

Yehuda

I have 2 to 3 more years left in my degree plan. I’ll graduate at either 22 or 23 years old

David,