Military Retirement Planning

Hello all,

I’m looking for suggestions on how to best prep for becoming an airline pilot. I am active duty still and have 7 years left. I will retire when i am 37/38. I am in the process of getting my private pilots license now. With the military side I have no experience with aircraft, quiet the opposite really, submarines. I’m a nuclear mechanic. I enjoy flying, its peaceful, and i am considering making it my second career. I read the age post and im on the late bloomer side based on my service however i should have about 25+ yrs to work in the airline industry. Any tips or suggestions to how to prepare would be appreciated.

-Chris

Chris,

Becoming an airline pilot doesn’t really require alot of “prep”, you need training and hours. You’ve got 7 yrs the more licenses, ratings and flight time you can build in that time, the less you need to do after. That’s really all there is to it.

Adam

Hi Adam,

A quick few questions.

My wife just told me that if I make something I love doing and turn it into a job I might not love it anymore. Do you only enjoy airlines, or do you still fly solo/family personal trips.

Second, I see you are in Hawaii. I am transferring to Hawaii in September. How is the air traffic around Pearl Harbor, if you know, and do you have anyone that you would recommend for private pilot and other ratings? I might finish my private stateside, but just in case I would enjoy a good recommendation for the area.

Aloha Chris,