My Plan

Hello Again!

I just wanted to run my plan by you guys and get some input on it. I am currently 19 and have my PPL. I am in my second year of college as a full time student and will be graduating with a 2 year degree in the spring. I also currently work full time. After getting my 2 year it is a waiting game to pay of my college loans before taking on the loan to go on to ATP. I will be starting with credit for my PPL and the 80 hour requirement is not a problem. Realistically im looking at starting between fall 2017, and summer 2018, most likely closer to summer. After completing my 2 years at ATP and getting settled into a job with a regional I will go back to school to finish up my 4 year degree and then be ready to move to a Major when that opurtunity comes later. I was just wondering if you guys had any additional input as I have planned this mostly through research and reading other posts on here.

My other question is regarding ATPs intro flight. I live about 6 hours away from the closest location, I will be in the Tampa FL area in January and was wondering if that is too far out to do an intro flight or if it does not matter. Also, what is included in that, I know you get the actual flight, but do they also do a tour of the location or go more in depth about their program?

Thank you for your input!

Tucker

Hi Tucker,

That actually sounds like a solid plan. My only caveat is keep in mind it can be very challenging to return to school after being away. Factor in you’ll be flying all over the country for a Regional having a grand time. It requires a fair amount of discipline. If you feel confident and keep a solid focus on your ultimate goal I think you’ll be fine and I say do it.