Narrow-Body to Wide-Body Transition Timeline

Hello,

I will make sure to keep my question short but to the point. As a very passionate person about what my future could hold as an airline pilot, I am constantly investigating into how to achieve my goals. I understand that I am still new (~ 93 Hrs), and I have quite the journey ahead of me. However, I wanted a more concrete grasp on how movement from a narrow-body to wide-body plane flows in the legacys.

My question is about how things work in your timeline as a pilot. Let’s say, for example, you do your time in a regional… flow to a major, and start off in a 737/a320 as a FO. You will, based on my recent readings on these forums, remain a FO for 4-7 years until you upgrade to captain (could be sooner or later . . . I know). However, once you are captain for some time, I assume there is a point where your seniority number gets its turn in line and you get the opportunity to move to the wide-body aircraft.

I would really like to understand how long it may be before you could get into a wide-body position, and . . . if you do, do you remain as a captain? Also, I see that pay on AirlinePilotCentral.com is referenced by a number of years. Are these numbers referring to years in the airline or the aircraft? If you have been a pilot in the 737 for 12 years and maxed out your pay as a captain, does that number stay at 12? Do you get FO pay or Captain pay? If you get FO pay, does that mean you have to make the decision to go from making +$250k a year as a 737 captain to around +$200k a year as a 12th year 777/a350 FO?

I know it’s a lot, but I hope I made things clear. I essentially just want to know if you keep your captainship status upon moving to another plane. And, if not, do you just have to sacrifice your pay for a few years until you can upgrade to captain? If so, how long do Wide-body captain upgrades typically take?

Thank you for your time!
Carter :slight_smile:

1 Like

Carter,