Pt 135 upgrade or 121 transition

Hello all! Any personal opinions are appreciated and encouraged.

I didnt go to ATP but have found this forum extremely helpful over the years. I find myself at a crossroads as I near 1500 hours. Im a first officer at a 135 company flying lears and Ive been accepted to mesa and am awaiting interviews with envoy and Skywest. My boss is wanting me to upgrade with a few year commitment (but i can buy out early). My end goal is a major airline and would love any opinion on this question: do majors like to see 135 pic jet or should I join a regional and upgrade there… Or does it not matter?

Thanks in advance.

The main things that matter for Legacy are:

• PIC (if 135 or 91 are you signing for the aircraft? Not just sole-manipulator of controls).

• AMEL , Turbine , Typed, Over 12500lbs.

If your 135 or 91 job meets that then you have a decent shot of getting to a Major or high end corporate. If it doesn’t then I would definitely look at 121 Regionals now. Note, it will take 1.5-3yrs before you get PIC time again, but also note most Majors want 3000hrs TT minimum.

The choice is really yours.
Chris F

Cameron,

121 hands down. Airlines like airline pilots. They know you’ve done the job, understand how things work (bidding, schedules, policies, etc etc) and have successfully gone through a 121 training program. While the legacies like turbine PIC time, they like 121 turbine PIC better. All they need to do is teach you to fly something bigger and fit you for a new uniform.

Adam

Cameron,