Requirement to be part of ATP

Hi everyone,
I hope you are doing well, I am very new in all if this and I have been researching about everything, now something that I cannot find is the requirements needed to start at ATP, I have been reading the question and answers and its seems like I need the private pilot license, or does ATP provide that too in the 9 months of course? If not why does the website mention that I can start from zero experience? Please provide me any information. Thank you for your time and help.

Best wishes,

Pablo Vinuesa Berchetti.

Pablo,

https://atpflightschool.com/airline-career-pilot-program/admission-prerequisites.html

The above will give you all the requirements both for with your PPL and without. There’s a ton of info on the website and I recommend you spend some quality time on there.

Adam

Adam

When I inquired to ATP a little over a week ago they informed me the only way to get accepted into their program was ex military, have a bachelors degree or close to, or have your PPL.

Per ATP website:

• Successfully Complete an Admissions Flight with ATP
  • Associate’s Degree, or
    • 60+ college credit hours, or
    • equivalent work experience, or
    • military experience
  • US Citizenship (or Permanent Resident)
  • FAA First Class Medical Certificate
  • Adherence to Height and Weight Limits - Due to aircraft operational limitations, students taller than 6’3" or weighing more than 250 lbs may be denied training in ATP aircraft.

So military, college (60+ credits) OR equivalent work experience. So, full time work experience that can be used. You would need to contact admissions for clarification to see if you qualify, but it’s not quite as pigeonholed as you think currently.

1 Like

So the height requirement is only for ATP? Is there a height requirement for commercial airlines?

Billy,

Yes, ATP has a height (and weight) requirement. The airlines do not.

Tory